Stories To Tell

I’ve Been Searching For It For Days

We’d trudged through the dusty towns and cities of Colombo, Negombo and Kandy, and I was beginning to wonder where the renowned Sri Lankan scenery was hiding; apparently it can’t be missed.

Standing on the platform at Nuwara Eliya, we waited among the seventy/thirty tourist to Sri Lankan ratio, for the train to Ella. We were already in the ‘hill country’, but we were yet to experience the vast tea plantations that are supposed to occupy the area. Although we’d already sampled plenty of it.

The train rolled in and people started shuffling along the platform. Shuffling, shuffling, shuffling, running. Running to claim a seat for the three hour journey ahead. Of course, we were not quick enough. One of the main guidebook attractions we wanted to experience, and we had to stand in the aisles or between the carriage couplings. I managed to park myself in the middle of a carriage so I could see out of the window. I didn’t bother taking my camera out. I didn’t want photos of filthy windows taunting me for missing the views on the other side.

The train jerked forwards. I could already feel the cramp in my toes from my not-so-broken-in walking shoes. For the first half an hour, the scenery passed by, much the same as everything I’d already seen in Nuwara Eliya. Dry grass dominated the slopes either side of the track. A three-legged dog relieved itself on what looked like a giant pink tulip. A couple of mini waterfalls trickling down the side of the hills attracted a few twitterings from the tourists, but nothing guidebook worthy yet.

I was distracted by a fidgeting French couple when it happened. Since they’d gotten on the train, all they’d done was move their bags from one place to another in an attempt to make some seats. While I was trying to grab the strap of my bag to tug it out of their way a forth time, the train emerged out of a tunnel and the voices in the compartment rose. I looked up, and there it was. A reason to use the word beauty.

Colombo has its busy roads and backstreet drug grottos that tuktuk drivers are happy to show you in case you’re that way inclined (often without asking you first), Negombo has its beach that attracts many tourists and even more locals, Kandy has its Temple of the Tooth (turns out there’s one in Singapore too), its scamming tour operators and its man-made lake. The stretch between Nuwara Eliya and Ella has these sheer drops on either side of the railway tracks, and hillsides that would send you plummeting into a forest of coconut trees or tea plantations.

I took my phone from my bag and wrote the following sentences:

     The Sri Lankans make incredible use out of their land. Wherever there is a patch of mud, a seed grows.

I look back at this and feel as though I didn’t put enough effort into describing what I saw, but then, upon reflection, this note expresses exactly what I thought of the scene at the time. The simplicity of the sentence structure shows just how much I wanted to be looking out of a window rather than at an iPhone screen. It’s not very often that we experience something that has the power to transport our minds away from technology, long enough for us to temporarily forget that it exists.

I stared at the expanse of foliage that was revealing itself to us as we sped across the rails. Each time we went through a tunnel, a different view would be there to greet us on the other side.

I watched the silent movie of the countryside until the train stopped. Sri Lankans started vacating their seats, so I threw my bag onto one next to a window and climbed across. Normally, I would be more  polite, but this was important. I had to see.

The train pulled away and I took my camera out; poised, I waited. But the view was gone. No more rippling hills or overcrowded forests. No more mist brushing the canopies of coconut infested palms. No more sheer drops. Just fields, and mud.

A Sri Lankan occupied the seat beside me and started asking me the usual, ‘where are you from? Where are you going? How long in Sri Lanka? You like?’ spiel. I took the opportunity to ask him about the environment, trying to mask my disappointment. I found out that those patches of mud I’d been ignoring, were actually rice fields.

image

We spoke about cultivation for the rest of the journey, and by the time we reached Ella, I’d taken fifty+ photos and been informed that I should try a red banana during my stay. I promised I’d buy one as soon as I could.

I met Sam on the platform and showed him some photos.

     “Did you see? All those plants. Look at this one of the train.”

image

     “I couldn’t see from where I was standing. That’s a good photo.”

I felt sad that I’d managed to capture a fraction of the beauty that Sri Lanka has to offer.

     “We’ll take the train to Hatton when we go to Delhouse to do Adam’s Peak, okay?”

And so, we did:

image

image

P.s. Adam’s Peak, you ask? Another day perhaps…

2 thoughts on “Stories To Tell

  1. Hello Channy,

    I always feel like that after I’ve read reviews on Trip Advisor, but I know that my opinion and somebody else’s opinion don’t always agree with each other.

    Regardless of my experiences, I would still recommend you visit Sri Lanka. See it through your own eyes.

    Thanks for taking the time to read my blog.

    Lauren

Leave a comment